Color Me Purple

There are hues that happily stand in for feelings and occasions. The rainbow has more emotional range than the average scientific discovery.

An altercation can make you see red or run yellow with fright.

Envy brings on a shade of green most unbecoming. That green is no one’s color.

Blue is an equally unwanted shade of feeling, although sorrow appeals to our desire to help more so than the former emotion.

What then of the noble purple?

I’ve accepted orange lacking a corresponding emotion because of its exalted position as color, tree, and fruit. But what does purple get, maligned at the end of the spectrum? Mothball Mondays and Wicked Wednesdays gave me the answer.

Have you ever read a story, dear reader, and felt an excess, verbose verbiage, a plethora of pomposity, a weight of wordiness? Then you have been exposed to purple prose. I’ll admit it’s not an actual emotion, but it does excite certain feelings in me—which leads me to the other meaning.

Purple language is profane or obscene and exactly what I think when reading purple prose.

Purple typewriter

Official Color of Writers – both warning and whimsy.

As a writer I think purple should be the color of choice, both as warning and release. Now I feel as though I have given purple back its place in our vocabulary.

Any ideas for unfortunate indigo?

Leave a Reply

